Thursday, 8 May 2014

Long Rifle: French Indian War Skirmish Game, Basic Rules: 2 Ranged Combat

In our first installment of Long Rifle Basic Rules Introduction we covered Activation, with French Infantryman Alexandre (REP 4) facing off against the British Allied Woodland Indian; Windrider (REP4).

Long Rifle - Ranged Combat

At Activation Alexandre roilled a 2 and Windrider rolled a 5. Alexandre gets to activate and, unfortunately for him, Windrider does not.

Alexandre decides to fire at the Indian.

First we check line of Sight (LOS). To be able to shoot something a figure must be able to see it.

At nighttime, Line of Sight is reduced to 12", similarly in woods Line of Sight is reduced to 12", or 6" at night. The Indian is 12" away from Alexandre.  Alexandre can see Windrider clearly and it is daylight. Alexandre has clear Line of Sight to Windrider.

Next we check range. In Long Rifle each weapon type has a range in inches up to which is can be used. Alexandre is armed with a musket, which has a range of 18". Windrider in within range of Alexandre's musket.

Alexandre rolls 1d6 and adds his REP (4)

Alexandre rolls a 1, therefore, 1+REP(4) = 5

The result is checked against the Ranged Combat Table. The ranged combat table takes into account circumstances such as, Target is Charging, Moved Fast, In Cover or Prone or the Shooter is taking a 'Rush Shot'. In general terms you need an 8 or higher to hit, so in this instance Alexandre has missed.

Alexandre's miss means two things in game terms:

1. Windrider must take a 'Received Fire' check (we'll address this another time) and...

2. Alexandre must now re-load his musket before he can fire it again.

Next time we'll explore more of the basic mechanics of Long Rifle.